Korea Costsofficial numbers, dated

Home › Living in Korea

Do I have to pay the TV licence fee in Korea: who must register a TV set, the 30-day rule, exemptions and what happens if you do not pay

Numbers checked against the official source on 2026-10-19

Under Korea's Broadcasting Act, anyone who keeps a TV set to receive television broadcasts must register it with KBS and pay the television licence fee, whether or not they watch. The law has no nationality condition. You must apply to register within 30 days of getting the set, a household in a residential home pays for only one set, and a household that used less than 50 kWh of home electricity in a month is exempt for that month. The monthly amount is set by KBS's board and approved by the National Assembly, so it is not printed in the Act or the decree, and this page does not state it.

30 daysto register a TV set after getting it
1 setcharged per household in a home used only as a residence
under 50 kWhmonthly home electricity use that exempts that month
1 yearof fees can be charged for an unregistered set

Law text: Broadcasting Act (방송법) shown on the National Law Information Center as "[시행 2026. 4. 21.] [법률 제21572호, 2026. 4. 21., 일부개정]"; Enforcement Decree "[시행 2026. 10. 16.] [대통령령 제36687호, 2026. 9. 15., 일부개정]". Both are in force today; neither is a future-dated version. Read on 2026-10-19.

Who has to pay

The monthly amount

Article 65 of the Act says the amount is decided by KBS's board of directors, passed through the Korea Media and Communications Commission, and fixed by approval of the National Assembly. The Act and decree do not print a number. KBS publishes the current amount itself, so this page does not state one: check your bill or the KBS licence-fee call centre for the current amount.

How it is billed

Article 67 of the Act lets KBS entrust registration and collection to set makers, sellers or others it designates. Since its paragraph 3 was added (the Act marks it as added on 2025-04-22), a party that collects the fee on KBS's behalf does so in combination with its own billing notices (for example the electricity bill), and KBS may agree the details with it. Paragraph 2 of Article 43 of the decree (on the payment notice) now reads as deleted, marked 2026-05-26. The decree requires a payment notice to reach the registered person at least 7 days before the due date, stating the amount, the months covered, the due date, the place of payment and the surcharge for late payment.

Many sources say that from 2023 the fee was billed separately from electricity. The current Act text points the other way, so this page does not state that. Look at your own bill, which shows how the fee is collected.

Exemptions, reductions and cancelling a registration

SituationRule (decree, Articles 39, 41, 44, 45)
Several sets in one residential homeSets beyond the first are exempt from registration
Home electricity under 50 kWh in a monthThe fee for that month is exempt (not for a holiday home)
Livelihood or medical benefit recipients under the Basic Livelihood Security Act, certain national-merit holders, and othersFee exempt, except for sets placed in space used for business
Home where a visually or hearing impaired person registered under the Welfare of Persons with Disabilities Act livesFee exempt
Area where KBS television cannot be received at all or in partFee exempt, unless the problem is man-made, such as a new building
Portable set for reception on the move, set in a car, ship or aircraft, black-and-white set, set in a military barracks, prison, school classroom, nursery or senior centreExempt from registration
Set pledged to and kept by someone else, or seized by a state bodyFee exempt; you must show proof
You pay six months or more at once with no arrearsHalf of one month's fee is deducted for every six months
You sold or transferred the set, or it is broken or lostApply to cancel the registration within 2 weeks

If you have no TV set, the Act's duty to register and pay applies to a person who keeps one, so there is nothing to register. The decree sets out cancelling a registered set (Article 41) and applying for an exemption, which needs proof only for the pledged, seized or business cases (Article 44(2)). A person who receives an exemption starts to benefit from the month the application was filed.

If you do not register or pay

This is a summary of the law, not legal advice. Whether your set must be registered, or you qualify for an exemption, is decided by KBS or the collecting party; confirm with them. See also household electricity rates.

Checked 2026-10-19.

Official sources

Prices change. If an official page shows a different number from this page, the official page wins — and please tell us so we can fix it.

Related

National Health Insurance for foreign residents: who joins, premiums and family membersForeigners staying over six months must join Korean health insurance. 2026 employee rate 7.19%, ₩211.5 per poiBuying a SIM card or eSIM in Korea: where, what ID and what it costsPrepaid USIM at airport roaming centers, eSIM by QR code. KT's official price list runs ₩6,500 for 1 day to ₩1Driving in Korea with a foreign licence: International Driving Permit or exchangeDrive on an IDP for 1 year after entry, or exchange your foreign licence at a Korean test site. Recognised couEmergency and help numbers in Korea for foreigners: 112, 119, 1330 and 1345112 police, 119 fire and ambulance, 1330 travel helpline, 1345 immigration line. Which number to call, what to

All pages in this section, compared →