Korea Costsofficial numbers, dated

Home › Working and studying in Korea at a glance

Global Korea Scholarship (GKS): what it covers, how long it lasts and who can apply

Numbers checked against the official source on 2026-10-19

The Global Korea Scholarship (GKS) is the Korean government's invitation scholarship for international students. The official pages list these benefits: airfare, Korean-language training fees, tuition and an academic allowance. The programme runs 1 year of Korean-language training plus 2 to 3 years for an associate degree, 4 to 6 for a bachelor's, 2 for a master's or 3 for a doctorate. The web pages do not print the monthly allowance amount; that figure sits in the official application-guideline PDF.

4 itemsairfare, language-training fee, tuition, academic allowance
1 yearKorean-language training before the degree
Under 25age limit, undergraduate (graduate: under 40)
80%minimum grade average in the previous course

Sources: the Study in Korea scholarship page and notice board (run by the National Institute for International Education, NIIED) and the NIIED GKS page. The 2027 undergraduate guideline notice is dated 2026-09-09. Read on 2026-10-19. The Study in Korea page is in Korean (its English view is machine translation), so the wording below is our own reading of the Korean text.

What the scholarship covers

ItemWhat the official page says
Benefits (Study in Korea)Airfare, Korean-language training fee, tuition, academic allowance, "etc."
Benefits (NIIED)Entry airfare, return airfare, Korean-language training fee, tuition, academic allowance
Monthly allowance amountNot stated on these HTML pages; see the guideline PDF attached to the notice
Settlement allowanceNot stated on these HTML pages
CourseKorean-language training, then the degree programme
DurationKorean language 1 year; associate degree 2 to 3 years; bachelor's 4 to 6 years; master's 2 years; doctorate 3 years
Places, undergraduateAbout 280 (summary); 286 (selection table total)
Places, graduateAbout 1,600 (summary); 2,000 (selection table total)

The Study in Korea page disagrees with itself on places: the programme summary says about 280 undergraduate and about 1,600 graduate, while the selection tables further down total 286 and 2,000. We show both; the guideline for each year decides.

For contrast, the same page lists a separate GKS exchange-student programme (one 4-month semester) with an academic allowance of 630,000 won a month (varying with the days of stay and the end of term) and return airfare at the actual ticket price within the airfare rule. That is not the degree-programme allowance.

Eligibility checklist

How it works

  1. Notice. NIIED announces the call: September for undergraduate, February for graduate.
  2. Apply. Embassy track: online through Study in Korea. University track: directly to the university. A person can apply through only one embassy or one university.
  3. Screening. Embassy or university first, then the NIIED committee; for the embassy track the university does a third round.
  4. Result. Undergraduate in December; graduate in June.

Contact given on the page: gksniied@korea.kr.

Where the pages differ

ItemStudy in Korea pageNIIED page
Graduate ageUnder 40 on 1 September of the selection yearUnder 40 on 1 September, or under 45 for a sitting professor from an ODA-recipient country
Graduate durationMaster's 2 years, doctorate 3 yearsLanguage training 1 year + master's 2 years; language training 1 year + doctorate 3 years
Undergraduate ageUnder 25 on 1 March of the selection yearUnder 25 on 1 March of the invitation year

The monthly allowance, settlement allowance and medical-insurance details are in the official guideline PDFs, not on this page. Read the current guideline (listed on the notice board) before you plan money around the scholarship. Related: TOPIK fees and test dates and part-time work for students. This page is a summary; confirm with NIIED.

Checked 2026-10-19.

Official sources

Prices change. If an official page shows a different number from this page, the official page wins — and please tell us so we can fix it.

Related

Minimum wage in Korea 2026: hourly rate, monthly figure, foreign workers and a calculatorKorea's 2026 minimum wage is ₩10,320 per hour, ₩82,560 per day and ₩2,156,880 per month (209 hours). It coversTOPIK fees and 2026 test dates: PBT, IBT and Speaking scheduleTOPIK costs KRW 40,000 or 55,000 (PBT), 70,000 or 95,000 (IBT), 80,000 (Speaking). 2026 registration weeks, exPart-time work for international students in Korea (D-2 and D-4): weekly hours by Korean level, permission steps and penaltiesD-2 and D-4 students need immigration permission to work part-time. Official hours table by course and TOPIK lSeverance pay in Korea: who gets it, the 30-days-per-year formula, the 14-day deadline and a calculator for foreign workersKorean law: severance after 1 year of service, 30 days of average wage per year, paid within 14 days. Average

All pages in this section, compared →